martes, 1 de septiembre de 2009

Esther Philips: Burnin' - Live at Freddie Jett's Pied Piper, L.A. (1970)

Originally released on Atlantic in 1970, Burnin': Live at Freddie Jett's Pied Piper, L.A. is a stunning live set which marked Esther Phillip's move from being a loud young R&B singer called Little Esther into an older, more mature interpreter of material in a more jazzy style. She is backed here by a good group that includes Jack Wilson on piano, Richard Tee on organ, Chuck Rainey on bass, and Cornell Dupree on guitar. Esther moves through a heartbreaking set of material that heralds her later 70's recordings for Kudu.

Here’s the track list:
1. Don't Let Me Lose This Dream
2. And I Love Him
3. Cry Me a River Blues
4. I'm Gettin' 'Long Alright
5. Release Me
6. Makin' Whoopee
7. If It's the Last Thing I Do
8. Shangri-La
9. Please Send Me Someone to Love
An amazing live performance of Esther Phillips from around the same time this LP was released (even the dress she is wearing seems to be the same of the album cover). She sings 'Misery' here:

6 comentarios:

  1. I'm glad to be back! Enjoy!!

  2. Welcome back! Looking forward to Esther`s version of"Lose that dream".Thank you.

  3. Welcome back, hope your vacation was great! Love from PA.

  4. ESTHER PHILLIPS found a permanent place in my heart!

    What a fantastic video!

    Thank you for posting this!

  5. I only know one version of dream so can't wait to hear this one - thanks